1. Home
  2. News
  3. Royals Announce Protected List

Royals Announce Protected List

Monday, June 3rd
Royals Announce Protected List

Reading Lists Twenty-Four Players Who Qualify Under Collective Bargaining Agreement Guidelines

Reading, PA – The 2013 Kelly Cup Champion Reading Royals of the ECHL, affiliate of the Washington Capitals of the National Hockey League and the Hershey Bears of the American Hockey League, today announced the team’s Protected List. The Royals’ Protected List includes the following players: Evan Barlow, Michael Bedard, Julien Cayer, Adam Comrie, Dave Cowan, Ethan Cox, Casey Haines, Dominic Jalbert, Nikita Kashirsky, Jeff LoVecchio, Kirk MacDonald, Drew MacIntyre, David Marshall, Jim McKenzie, Justin Milo, Mark Mitera, Bryant Molle, Ryan O’Byrne, Ian O’Connor, Matt Pope, Bobby Shea, Brock Shelgren, Yannick Tifu, and Denny Urban.

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that: (i) signed an SPC in 2012-13 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR (ii) signed an SPC in 2012-13, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR (iii) had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR (iv) has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR (v) signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2012-13 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR (vi) has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released. Protected lists may exceed 20 players. The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15. Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2012-13. Season Tickets for the 2013-14 Reading Royals ECHL season are currently available. Call 610-898-7825 for more information or log onto www.royalshockey.com.